Sunday, December 3, 2023

Oscar Committee invited Kajol to join the Academy Membership


Share post:

Actors Kajol, Suriya, Sushmit Ghosh, and Rintu Thomas amongst the 397 new members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences this year.

- Advertisement -

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced the list of artists and executives for its membership. These artists have done creditable work in the theatrical motion pictures. In a statement shared on its website, the Academy released a list of artists and executives who have contributed to theatrical motion pictures. Besides Kajol, the directors Sushmit Ghosh and Rintu Thomas, and Reema Kagti are others in the list of the 397 new inductees.

Another accolade added to DDLJ leading lady, Oscar Committee invited Kajol for its membership

It was a historic day for India as the Oscar Committee selected Kajol and three other Indians for its exclusive membership. There are certain prerequisites for the elite membership as it is not given to anyone. Certain professional qualifications go along with the membership. These include a commitment to representation, inclusion, and equity remain the leading criteria. Amongst the members of the 2022 awardees are 44% women, 37% from underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 50% from countries outside countries and territories outside the United States. Suriya becomes the first Tamil star to have received the membership.

Oscar Committee invited Kajol, Suriya, Ghosh, Thomas and Kagti for outstanding contribution

Oscar Committee invited Kajol and 3 other Indians for their membership. Besides Kajol, other actors include Suriya, Ghosh, Thomas, and Kagti. The Bollywood actress Kajol has given a stellar performance as a leading lady in movies like ‘My Name Is Khan, and ‘Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Gham’. and ‘DDLJ’. Also the actor Surya has immense popularity in Tamil Cinema. He has given hits such as ‘Jai Bhim‘ and ‘Soorarai Pottru’. Besides he also has a cameo role in the Tamil version of Madhavan’s Rocketry. The Academy has nominated Ghosh and Thomas’s Writing With Fire in the best documentary feature category. Kagti, gave some of the popular Hindi films such as TalaashGully Boy, and Gold, is set to join the writer’s branch.

Also read: Madhavan’s Transformation surprises Suriya, Video goes Viral

- Advertisement -

Related articles