Korea Open 2022:PV Sindhu,Lakshya Sen face easy opponents, Saina faces Takahashi

Korean Open 2022
Indian players at Korean Open 2022

Korean Open 2022- Facts, Schedule, Rankings, Draws, Live Updates and Tickets

Korean Open 2022 is a premier annual badminton event that is held in Seoul, South Korea. The Korean Open is now known as Korean Open Super Series as it became a part of the BWF series in 2007. Korean Open is one of the 7 BWF World Tour Super 500 events in the BWF events structure since 2018.PV Sindhu is the lone Indian player to have won the coveted event.

Some Important Details

  • Date-April 5-10
  • Venue: Palma Stadium, Suncheon Korea
  • Rounds:(R32, R16, Quarterfinals, Semifinals, Finals)
  • Total Players:300
  • Prize Money:$360,000

Schedule of Korean Open

  • Ist Round(R32): April 5,6
  • 2ND Round(R16):April 7
  • 3rd Round(Quarterfinals):April 8
  • 4th Round(Semifinals):April 9
  • 5th Round(Finals):April 10

Rankings of Indians at the Korean Open 2022

  • PV Sindhu-3rd
  • Srikanth Kidambi-5th
  • Lakshya Sen-6th

Mixed news for Indians in the Korean Open 2022

The premier World Tour Super Series began with mixed news for Indians. While Lakshaya Sen and Malvika Bansood struggled to beat their opponents,HS Prannoy lost to Cheat June Wei in straight sets. Kidambi Srikant, PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal shall begin their campaign on Wednesday.

India at Korea Open Badminton – TUESDAY

  • Lakshya Sen beat Choi Ji Hoon 14-21, 21-16, 21-18
  • HS Prannoy lost to CHEAM June Wei (Malaysia) 17-21, 7-21
  • Malvika Bansood vs Han Yue (China) 20-22,22-20,21-1
  • PV Sindhu is currently leading the American shuttler 21-15, 21-14
  • Kidambi Srikanth vs Malaysia’s Liew Daren 22-20, 21-11
  • Kudaravalli Sri Krishna Priya face-off World No 4 An Se Young
  • Saina Nehwal is likely to start her campaign today.

Korea Open 2022: Draws and Indian Players

Draws of All Indian Players In Action

Men’s Singles 

  1. PARUPALLI Kashyap vs. Sourabh Verma
  2. Lakshya Sen vs. LU Guang Zu(Won)
  3. Prannoy H.S. vs. CHEAM June Wei(Lost)
  4. Kiran Gorge vs. LEE Dong Keun
  5. Kidambi Srikanth vs. LIEW Daren

Women’s Singles

  1. Saina Nehwal vs. Asuka Takahashi
  2. Malvika Bansod vs. HAN Yue(Won)
  3. PV Sindhu vs. Lauren Lam(Won First game)
  4. Sri Krishna Priya Kudaravalli vs. AN Seyoung

Men’s Doubles

  1. Krishna Prasad Garage and VG Panjala vs Yeyy Rambutan and P Kusumawardana
  2. Bokka Navaneeth and Reddy B Sumeeth vs ONG Yew Sin and Teo Ee Yi
  3. Satwiksairaj Ranki Reddy and Chirag Shetty vs Kittinupong KEDREN and Supak JOMKOH
  4. M.R.Arjun and Dhruv Kapila vs HE Ji Ting and ZHOU Hao Dong

Women’s Doubles

  • Palak Arora and Unnati Hooda vs Chang Ye Na vs JUNG Kyung Eun
  • Ashwini Ponappa and Reddy N Sikki(4) vs Bye

Mixed Doubles

  • Reddy B Sumeeth and Ashwini Ponnappa vs TAN Kian Men and LAI Pei Jing

Korean Open 2022-Tickets, Bookings and where to watch?

All information about the tickets guidelines relating to Covid-19 are on the BWF official site. Indian fans can watch it live on Voot Select and BWF”s official Youtube Channel BWF TV.