Monday, June 5, 2023

Captain Sanju Samson led India to win against New Zealand in first unofficial ODI


Share post:

India A registered a seven wicket victory against their New Zealand counterparts in the first unofficial One Day international match played.

- Advertisement -

Captain Sanju Samson led India to victory during their first unofficial one day international played today. Thanks to the innings from the skipper and lead player Rajat Patidar, India A raced to victory against New Zealand counterparts. Teams played the match at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, Patidar ended the match in style with a boundary. India won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson

New Zealand looked jittery from the start as Captain Sanju Samson led India to victory.

The Kiwis lost three wickets in six overs. The openers Chad Bowes (10) and Rachin Ravindra (10) both struggled with the bat. Shardul was spectacular with the ball and took first 2 wickets of Bowes and Dane Cleaver. He ended his innings with a four-wicket haul. The Kiwis lost regular wickets at equal intervals and never looked stable. The only player who offered resistance was Michael Rippon (61) stabilized the innings. Kuldeep Yadav’s dismissed him in the 41st over. New Zealand scored only 167 runs.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson

Sanju Samson led India to win after a great opening start

The Samson-led team chased the target with ease. Both openers Prithvi Shaw(17) and Ruturaj (41) Gaikwad set the momentum in the right direction. After Shaw got dismissed, Rahul Tripathi took over who played decent innings. The match ended in just 31.5 overs with Samson (29) and Patidar’s (45) brilliant knocks.

Team Players

India A: Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rajat Patidar, Sanju Samson(w/c), Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Umran Malik, Kuldeep Sen, Rahul Chahar, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Srikar Bharat, Rishi Dhawan, Raj Bawa

New Zealand A: Joe Carter, Chad Bowes, Robert ODonnell, Tom Bruce(c), Mark Chapman, Rachin Ravindra, Dane Cleaver(w), Jacob Duffy, Michael Rippon, Matthew Fisher, Logan van Beek, Cam Fletcher, Joe Walker, Sean Solia, Ben Lister

- Advertisement -

Related articles